ATS schools, by definition and by nature, are run by Governing Bodies who are the Responsible Authority for that school. Membership of the Board of Governors will be made up of parents and non-parents alike; parents on the Board can ensure current needs are being catered for while non-parents can ensure no personal agendas are being pursued.

Each ATS school will also have a School Development Committee (with varying titles, according to each particular school) made up of members of the parent body. The primary responsibilities of this group are to support the school staff, develop a welcoming and positive climate for all parents, raise funds for the school and act in an advisory role as a forum for parental input and communication.

In 2012 the ATS instituted the Association of Trust Schools Parents’ association as a means to allow the voice of the parents to be heard at national level.


  • Represent the Parents Committee of ATS member schools
  • Promote and encourage parents in ATS schools to participate in the activities of the schools [to support their children in sport, drama, music – to fund-raise]
  • Promote communication, understanding and good relations between school governing bodies, management, parents and Ministry
  • Promote and protect the good name of Independent schools by advocating for the promotion and maintenance of high academic, sporting, moral and spiritual standards


The following members serve on the ATSP Committee:

Kudakwashe Shirichena (Chair) Murray MacDougall Primary Current SDC Chair
Nicki Wallace (Secretary) Sharon Primary Previous SDC Chair
Andrew Sithole Hippo Valley Primary Current SDC Chair
Riz Khan Sharon Primary Current SDC Chair
Nyasha Mbofana Peterhouse
Justice Marwisa Gateway Primary Current SDC Chair
Emmanuel Ndhlovu Masiyephambili
N Mbofana Peterhouse Group Current SDC Chair
G Ngonyamo Bryden
N Charidza Lusitania