STANCO is the Standing Committee of CHISZ, made up of members of the Conference, elected annually by the members at the AGM.

The Standing Committee is required to “conduct the policy and general management of the Conference in keeping with the objects of the Conference and shall have the power to carry on its business and exercise its powers at all times, provided that they shall always be conducted and exercised in accordance with any resolutions passed at any General Meeting.”

The current members serving on STANCO are [2017 – 2018]:

  • PositionNameSchool
  • Chairman & MidlandsPswarai, DanielMidlands Christian College
  • Vice ChairBlackett, HowardPeterhouse Boys
  • Mash West and RAErlank, MariusLomagundi College
  • Mash EastDavis, PaulRuzawi
  • Harare SecondaryMakoni PaulineArundel
  • MatebelelandRoss, LesGirls College
  • MatebelelandMhaka MaguraPetra Primary
  • Harare SecondaryAnderson, DennisEaglesvale High
  • SEDPallister, GeraldHippo Valley
  • Harare PrimaryKalan, DanLusitania
  • Executive DirectorMiddleton, Tim
  • TreasurerHorsfield, Peter
  • ATS Bursars’ RepNcube, KudaArundel
  • ATS Teachers’ RepMadzudzo, JulieHillcrest Primary



Stanco February 2015.
The Chairperson is Mr Robert Sibanda (back row, second from right). Robert has been the Headmaster of Masiyephambili Primary School in Bulawayo since 1999 and has served on the Standing Committee for a number of years. He took over as Acting Chairperson when the previous Chairperson, Tim Middleton, took over from Neil Todd as CEO (Executive Director) of ATS/CHISZ in May 2015 and was confirmed as Chairperson at the 2015 Annual Heads’ Conference.

Mr NEIL TODD, the previous and initial Chief Executive Officer of the ATS for 15 years and the former Head of Falcon College for fifteen years, was elected as an HONORARY MEMBER of CHISZ, in recognition of his services to CHISZ over many years. Photos of the celebratory lunch to mark his retirement can be found under EVENTS on this website.

stanco2  stanco3

Some of the previous CHISZ Chairmen at Neil Todd’s Farewell Lunch: Mike McKenzie, Jon Calderwood, Gill Alcock, Kevin Ricquebourg, Jacqui Robertson,Neil and Sue Todd, Tim Middleton

Previous Chairs of STANCO have been:

  • Fred Snell[1956 – 1959]Peterhouse
  • John Paterson[1960 – 1964]Springvale House Prep School
  • Fred Snell[1965 – 1969]Peterhouse
  • Dougal Turner[1970 – 1971]Falcon College
  • Bruce Fieldsend[1972 – 1975]Peterhouse
  • Dorothy Twiss[1976 – 1979]Arundel School
  • Dougal Turner[1980 – 1983]Falcon College
  • Dorothy Twiss[1984 – 1987]Arundel School
  • Alan Megahey[1988 – 1991]Peterhouse
  • Ross Fuller[1992 – 1993]Girls College
  • Neil Todd[1994 – 1996]Falcon College
  • Mike McKenzie[1997 – 1998]St John’s Prep School
  • Jon Calderwood[1999 – 2000]Peterhouse Girls School
  • Tim Middleton[2001 – 2002]Petra High School
  • Kevin Ricquebourg[2002 – 2003]Gateway Primary School
  • Gill Alcock[2004 – 2005]Arundel School
  • Jackie Robertson[2006 – 2010]Chisipite Senior
  • Andy Gibson[2010 – 2013]Murray MacDougal
  • Tim Middleton[2013 – 2015]Gateway High School
  • Robert Sibanda[2015 – 2017]Masiyepambili Primary